How much are conveyancing fees in NSW?
$1,850 was the median published buying fee across 8 firms, with the lowest at $995 (Allenby Legal) and the highest at $2,750 (Mikhael Lawyers). Selling had a median of $2,200 across 7 firms, from $880 to $2,750. All figures include GST.
| Fee | Firms counted | Lowest | Median | Highest |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Buying, GST included | 8 of 13 | $995 | $1,850 | $2,750 |
| Selling, GST included | 7 of 13 | $880 | $2,200 | $2,750 |
The summary is computed in code from the table below. A fee that a firm quotes without GST is multiplied by 1.10, the 10% GST rate on business.gov.au. Firms that do not say whether GST is included, firms whose page does not split buying from selling, and firms that sell a bundle of professional work and searches are shown in the table but left out of the range. This is a count of published prices. It is not a market average and not a quote for your purchase.
Published buying fees, lowest to highest
| Firm | Fee |
|---|---|
| Allenby Legal | $995 |
| DJR Conveyancing | $1,120 |
| Ready Settle Go | $1,299 |
| Domium | $1,500 |
| Zettle | $2,200 |
| WeDo Legal | $2,200 |
| Seed Legal | $2,640 |
| Mikhael Lawyers | $2,750 |
This is a selected sample of published prices. Scope differs between firms, so two identical fees do not mean identical service. The spread is wide: the highest fee is more than twice the lowest. Bundles and firms that do not state GST are not in the chart.
What do Sydney conveyancers and solicitors charge?
$995 to $2,750 for a buying fee we could compare, and $880 to $2,750 for selling, GST included. The table lists all 13 firms whose own site publishes a fixed fee. Some are Sydney practices and some are statewide online providers that serve NSW.
| Firm | Buying | Selling | GST | In the range? | What the fee covers | Charged on top | Page date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allenby LegalProfessional fee | $995 | $995 | Included | Yes | Standard professional work: review, exchange and settlement. | Third party outlays, itemised at cost. | No date shown |
| DJR ConveyancingProfessional fee | $1,120 | $880 | Included | Yes | Professional fee. | Searches, council and strata costs. | No date on its own fees |
| DomiumProfessional fee | $1,500 | $1,500 | Included | Yes | Standard professional scope, with a standard contract review. | Disbursements. | No date shown |
| LawscapeProfessional fee | Standard matter $1,200 + GST | Same standard matter fee | Added on top | No. Its page does not say whether the standard fee is for buying or selling, so we do not count it in the buying range. | Fixed professional fee for a standard matter. Confirm the Sydney property scope in the written quote. | GST, searches, duty, rates and water, and other disbursements. | No date shown |
| Seed LegalProfessional fee | $2,400 + GST | $2,400 + GST | Added on top | Yes | Standard residential purchase in metropolitan Sydney, with listed professional tasks. | Disbursements and PEXA. | Timestamp on page: 19 September 2025 |
| ZettleProfessional fee | $2,200 | $2,200 | Included | Yes | Standard professional work, contract reviews and a client portal. | External searches and government costs. | Prices checked 1 October 2026 |
| Conveyancing ShopProfessional fee | $1,800 | $1,800 | Not stated | No. Its page does not say whether GST is in the price, so it cannot go on the same basis as the others. | Fixed professional fee for standard transactions. Chatswood provider. | Disbursements. | No date shown |
| WeDo LegalProfessional fee | $2,200 | $2,200 | Included | Yes | Established property up to $1.5 million: review, exchange, enquiries and settlement. Sale: contract preparation, exchange and settlement. | Disbursements. | No date shown |
| Mikhael LawyersProfessional fee | $2,500 + GST | $2,500 + GST | Added on top | Yes | Professional work. A purchase review is credited towards the fee. Barangaroo practice. | Searches, registration and PEXA. | No date shown |
| Allied ConveyancingBundle with searches | House $1,760, unit $1,870 | House $1,760, unit $1,870 | Not stated | No. Professional work, essential searches and identity checks are priced together, and GST is not stated. | Professional work, specified essential searches and disbursements, and identity verification. | PEXA and government fees. | No date shown |
| East West ConveyancingBundle with searches | $2,070 | $1,850 | Included | No. Standard work and specified search and certificate outlays are priced together. | Standard residential work and specified search and certificate outlays. | Statutory fees, PEXA, bank charges and optional reports. | No date shown |
| DSP LawBundle with searches | House $1,399, unit $1,399 or $1,519 | House typically $1,650, unit typically $1,770 | Included | No. Mandatory searches and disclosure documents are priced inside the fee. Seller prices depend on title and disclosure complexity. | Mandatory searches and disclosure documents. | PEXA and registration. | No date shown |
| Ready Settle GoProfessional fee | $1,299 | Not stated | Included | Yes | Fixed buying fee, with contract reviews offered. | Searches and certificates. | No date shown |
| Summary, computed from the rows counted | $995 to $2,750, median $1,850 | $880 to $2,750, median $2,200 | GST included | 8 firms for buying, 7 for selling | Published fixed professional fees we read on 28 October 2026, not a quote | ||
A fee marked as added on top has GST on top of the figure shown. Seed Legal’s page shows a timestamp of 19 September 2025, so its figure is older than the rest. WeDo Legal’s fee is for an established property up to $1.5 million. Prices can change without notice, so confirm the figure in writing.
Which firms are left out of the range, and why
| Firm | Buying fee shown | Reason it is not in the range |
|---|---|---|
| Lawscape | Standard matter $1,200 + GST | Its page does not say whether the standard fee is for buying or selling, so we do not count it in the buying range. |
| Conveyancing Shop | $1,800 | Its page does not say whether GST is in the price, so it cannot go on the same basis as the others. |
| Allied Conveyancing | House $1,760, unit $1,870 | Professional work, essential searches and identity checks are priced together, and GST is not stated. |
| East West Conveyancing | $2,070 | Standard work and specified search and certificate outlays are priced together. |
| DSP Law | House $1,399, unit $1,399 or $1,519 | Mandatory searches and disclosure documents are priced inside the fee. Seller prices depend on title and disclosure complexity. |
Several of the bundles sit near the middle of the range, which makes them look like ordinary professional fees. They are not. Allied Conveyancing, East West Conveyancing and DSP Law include searches or disclosure documents in the price, so their fee buys more than the bare professional work the others quote.
Should I use a licensed conveyancer or a solicitor in NSW?
Both are allowed. NSW Government guidance says conveyancing work is done by a licensed conveyancer, or by a legal practitioner, incorporated legal practice or solicitor corporation. Licensing sits under the Conveyancers Licensing Act 2003. Our table does not show that one group is always cheaper.
| Provider | Authorised through | What to ask for |
|---|---|---|
| Licensed conveyancer | A conveyancer licence under the Conveyancers Licensing Act 2003 | The licence number, and a written scope of the work |
| Solicitor or law practice | Legal practitioner, incorporated legal practice or solicitor corporation | Practising details, and a written scope of the work |
Queensland works differently: paid conveyancing there goes through a law practice. See the Queensland conveyancing fees page if you are buying across the border. Whichever provider you choose, the written scope matters more than the label. A standard purchase and a purchase with a complex title are different jobs.
What is included in a NSW conveyancing fee?
A fixed fee covers an agreed scope: contract review and advice, exchange, enquiries and settlement. Searches, certificates, PEXA and registry fees are usually extra. A few firms put specified searches inside the fee, which is why we separate them as bundles.
| Item | Usually in the professional fee | Where firms differ in our table |
|---|---|---|
| Contract review and advice | Yes | Allenby Legal lists review, exchange and settlement. WeDo Legal lists review, exchange, enquiries and settlement. |
| Extra contract reviews | Sometimes | Domium and Zettle describe contract reviews as part of the fee. Mikhael Lawyers credits a purchase review towards its fee. |
| Searches and certificates | Usually extra | Allied Conveyancing, East West Conveyancing and DSP Law include specified searches in their price. |
| Identity checks | Varies | Allied Conveyancing includes identity verification. Zettle lists it as an additional cost. |
| PEXA | No | Seed Legal, Mikhael Lawyers and DSP Law say PEXA is additional. |
| Registry fees | No | Paid to NSW Land Registry Services. See the registry fees section. |
| Transfer duty | No | Paid to the state. Use the stamp duty calculator. |
| Building and pest or strata reports | No | Separate services from separate providers. |
How much does conveyancing cost for a Sydney apartment?
Only two firms in our table publish a separate unit price, and both are bundles. Allied Conveyancing charges $1,760 for a house and $1,870 for a unit. DSP Law charges $1,399 for a house and $1,399 or $1,519 for a unit. The unit price is higher or equal, never lower.
| Firm | House or unit buying fee | What is inside |
|---|---|---|
| Allied Conveyancing | House $1,760, unit $1,870 | Professional work, specified essential searches and disbursements, and identity verification. |
| DSP Law | House $1,399, unit $1,399 or $1,519 | Mandatory searches and disclosure documents. |
Apartment buyers add strata work. A records inspection, certificates and legal review of the strata documents are different things, so ask which of them the quote covers. Most firms in the table do not publish a separate unit schedule, so ask for a written quote for your unit.
Do conveyancers charge for every contract I review?
Practice varies, and most fee pages say little. Domium and Zettle describe a standard contract review as part of the fee, WeDo Legal lists a review in its standard scope, Ready Settle Go offers contract reviews and Mikhael Lawyers credits a purchase review towards its fee. Ask before you send a second or third contract.
| Firm | What its page says about reviews |
|---|---|
| Domium | Standard contract review included in the standard scope. |
| Zettle | Contract reviews listed in standard professional work. |
| WeDo Legal | Review listed in the standard established property purchase. |
| Mikhael Lawyers | Purchase review credited towards the fee. |
| Ready Settle Go | Contract reviews offered with the fixed buying fee. |
The question that matters while house hunting is the total cost across every property you review, not the fee for the one you buy. Ask how many reviews are covered, what an extra review costs and whether a review is credited if you go on to buy.
How much does conveyancing cost when selling in NSW?
$2,200 was the median published selling fee across 7 firms, from $880 to $2,750, GST included. Many NSW firms charge the same fee to buy and sell. Check whether the sale fee covers contract preparation, exchange and settlement.
| Firm | Selling fee, GST included | Buying fee, GST included |
|---|---|---|
| DJR Conveyancing | $880 | $1,120 |
| Allenby Legal | $995 | $995 |
| Domium | $1,500 | $1,500 |
| Zettle | $2,200 | $2,200 |
| WeDo Legal | $2,200 | $2,200 |
| Seed Legal | $2,640 | $2,640 |
| Mikhael Lawyers | $2,750 | $2,750 |
Ready Settle Go does not publish a separate selling fee, so it is not in the selling range. The bundles, Lawscape and Conveyancing Shop are left out for the reasons given above.
What registry, council and water fees do I pay on top of the conveyancing fee?
NSW Land Registry Services charges $182.73 to register the transfer and $182.73 to register a mortgage, both GST included. PEXA publishes $146.30 for a single title transfer. In the City of Sydney area a rates certificate is $105 and a Sydney Water conveyancing certificate is $9.81.
| Item | Amount | Note | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registering the transfer (NSW Land Registry Services) | $182.73 including GST ($166.60 excluding GST) | A flat fee for a transfer under section 46 of the Real Property Act. It does not change with the price. | NSW LRS, 2026/27 fees update. Issued June 2026, effective 1 July 2026. |
| Registering a mortgage (NSW Land Registry Services) | $182.73 including GST ($166.60 excluding GST) | Only applies if you borrow. | NSW LRS, 2026/27 fees update. Issued June 2026, effective 1 July 2026. |
| PEXA transfer, single title | $146.30 including GST | PEXA is a private settlement platform, not a government charge. Other dealings and title counts have other prices. Primary and additional participant pricing from 1 October 2026 does not apply in NSW. | PEXA, pricing. Effective 1 July 2026 and 1 October 2026. |
| City of Sydney outstanding rates certificate (section 603) | $105, GST exempt | City of Sydney area. Other councils set their own fees. | City of Sydney, property certificates. No page date shown. Linked application PDF marked modified 2 July 2026. |
| City of Sydney planning certificate (section 10.7) | $73 for section 10.7(2), $185 for 10.7(2) and 10.7(5) together | A planning certificate is often supplied with the contract. Do not count it twice. | City of Sydney, property certificates. No page date shown. |
| Sydney Water conveyancing certificate | $9.81 | Applies 1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027. | Sydney Water, other prices. Applies 1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027. |
| Sydney Water sewerage service diagram | $33.67 through Tap in, $18.75 through a Property Link broker | The broker price excludes the broker’s own costs. | Sydney Water, other prices. Applies 1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027. |
PEXA is a private electronic settlement platform, not a government charge. A statutory fee is what the council or registry sets. A search provider can charge more for ordering it, so ask what you are being charged and by whom. A planning certificate is often supplied with the contract, so check before you pay for one. Some firm pages still show older PEXA figures, so use PEXA’s own page.
Registry fees are flat in NSW. The transfer and mortgage registration together are $365.46 at any price. Transfer duty is a separate state tax that does depend on price: use the stamp duty calculator.
What does a typical first home purchase cost in conveyancing and registry fees?
$2,476.57 is the total of known costs for a purchase with a loan in the City of Sydney area, at the median published fee. It is $1,621.57 at the lowest fee and $3,376.57 at the highest. Transfer duty, deposit, reports, a planning certificate and settlement adjustments are not included.
| Line | Lowest published fee | Median published fee | Highest published fee | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Professional fee | $995 | $1,850 | $2,750 | From the fee table, GST included |
| Transfer registration | $182.73 | $182.73 | $182.73 | NSW LRS, flat fee |
| Mortgage registration | $182.73 | $182.73 | $182.73 | NSW LRS, only if you borrow |
| PEXA transfer | $146.30 | $146.30 | $146.30 | PEXA, single title |
| Rates certificate | $105 | $105 | $105 | City of Sydney, section 603 |
| Water certificate | $9.81 | $9.81 | $9.81 | Sydney Water |
| Known costs subtotal | $1,621.57 | $2,476.57 | $3,376.57 | Excludes transfer duty, deposit, reports and adjustments |
Every line comes from a figure on this page. Registry fees are flat, so the total does not depend on the price. Other councils set their own certificate fees. A planning certificate is left out because it is often supplied with the contract. Your own quote will differ.
Why is my settlement payment higher than my conveyancing bill?
Your cash shortfall is the purchase price plus unpaid transaction costs and settlement adjustments, less the deposit already paid, available loan funds and other funds already credited. Your conveyancer’s bill is only one part of those costs. In NSW the settlement statement also shows the flat registry fees and PEXA.
| Item | Cost or funding | Who it is paid to or comes from | Part of the professional bill? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Professional fee and GST | Cost | The conveyancer or law practice | Yes |
| Searches and certificates | Cost | Councils, Sydney Water, providers | No, unless the fee is a bundle |
| Registration and PEXA | Cost | NSW Land Registry Services, PEXA | No |
| Transfer duty | Cost | The state | No |
| Rates and water adjustments | Cost or credit | Shared between buyer and seller | No |
| Building and pest or other reports | Cost | The report provider | No |
| Deposit already paid | Funding that reduces the shortfall | Your own funds, already paid | No |
| Lender funds | Funding that reduces the shortfall | Your lender, released at settlement | No |
How long is the NSW cooling off period and what does cancelling cost?
Five business days after exchange for an ordinary sale, ending at 5 pm on the fifth business day after the day of exchange. If you use it, 0.25% of the purchase price is payable, which is $2,000 on $800,000. Off the plan contracts have 10 business days. There is no cooling off at auction, or on exchange that day after the property is passed in, and none when it is validly waived. The 0.25% is not a conveyancing fee.
| Situation | Cooling off | Cost to cancel |
|---|---|---|
| Ordinary sale | Ends at 5 pm on the fifth business day after exchange | 0.25% of the purchase price |
| Off the plan | 10 business days | Check the contract |
| Auction | None at auction, or on exchange that day after the property is passed in | Not applicable. Get the contract reviewed before you bid |
| Waiver | None when validly waived with a section 66W certificate | Not applicable. Ask your conveyancer before signing one |
| Purchase price | Ordinary cooling off cost, at 0.25% |
|---|---|
| $600,000 | $1,500 |
| $800,000 | $2,000 |
| $1,000,000 | $2,500 |
What the contract stage means for your fee
Review comes before exchange, which is why review allowances matter. Cooling off starts after exchange, so the cheapest time to find a problem is before you sign. NSW Government guidance tells buyers to ask for an itemised statement of the likely costs before work starts.
Council and water certificates are part of the contract and settlement checks. Some come attached to the contract, and some are ordered for settlement. The fee table tells you what a firm quotes. The certificate prices in the registry section tell you what the official bodies charge.
What do I ask for in a NSW conveyancing quote?
NSW Government guidance tells buyers to ask for an itemised statement of the likely costs in writing before work starts. In NSW the quote should also show whether the provider is a licensed conveyancer or a law practice, and which council and Sydney Water certificates are inside the fee.
| Field | What to write down |
|---|---|
| Provider | Licensed conveyancer or law practice, and the licence or practising details |
| Professional fee | The figure and whether GST is included or added |
| Contract reviews | How many are covered, what an extra review costs, whether a review is credited if you buy |
| Searches and certificates | Which are included, which are ordered at cost, and which come with the contract |
| PEXA and registry | Whether they appear as separate lines |
| Identity checks | Whether they are billed |
| Property type | House or strata, and any extra strata work |
| Auction or private sale | What review you need before a bid |
| Exclusions | Price caps, complex title, extra parties, anything else that moves the fee |
What traps catch people comparing NSW conveyancing quotes?
The biggest NSW trap is comparing a bare professional fee with a bundle such as Allied Conveyancing, East West Conveyancing or DSP Law, which have searches or documents inside. Others are old page dates and fees that apply only up to a price cap.
- GST silence is not GST included. Conveyancing Shop and Allied Conveyancing show prices without saying. We leave them out of the range.
- Bundles and professional fees are different things. We never pool them into one median.
- Old PEXA and registry numbers. Some firm pages show a PEXA figure of $140.58 or a registry figure from an earlier year. Use PEXA and NSW Land Registry Services for current prices.
- Old page dates. One firm’s page shows a timestamp of 19 September 2025. Ask whether the price has changed.
- Price caps. One firm’s standard fee applies to an established property up to $1.5 million.
- A fee that does not say buying or selling. One firm publishes a single standard matter fee, so we cannot tell which side it covers.
- A planning certificate you already have. Do not pay for the same document twice.
How did we check these fees?
We read the own fee pages of 13 NSW firms on 28 October 2026 and copied the figures each publishes. NSW Land Registry Services, City of Sydney, Sydney Water and PEXA supplied the registry, council, water and platform charges.
- A fee counts in the range only if it is a professional fee, the firm states GST, and the side (buying or selling) is clear.
- GST exclusive fees are multiplied by 1.10 so every counted fee is on one basis.
- The lowest, median and highest are calculated in code from the counted rows. With an even number of firms the median is the mean of the middle two.
- A firm is authoritative for its own advertised fee, not for government fees or the wider market. This is not a representative survey and it is not a recommendation of any firm.
- Pages that show no date are marked “No date shown”. We do not substitute a copyright year.
For the national picture and the other states, see our guide to what conveyancing is and what it costs. The Queensland conveyancing fees page uses the same method for Brisbane and the Gold Coast.
Questions people ask about conveyancing fees in NSW
How much are conveyancing fees in NSW?
On 28 October 2026, 8 NSW firms published a fixed professional buying fee we could put on the same GST basis. The lowest was $995, the median was $1,850 and the highest was $2,750, all including GST. Bundles that price searches inside the fee are shown separately. This is a count of published prices, not a quote and not a market average.
Should I use a licensed conveyancer or a solicitor in NSW?
Both are allowed. NSW Government guidance says conveyancing work is done by a licensed conveyancer or by a legal practitioner, incorporated legal practice or solicitor corporation, and licensing sits under the Conveyancers Licensing Act 2003. Our table does not show that one group is always cheaper. Ask for the licence or practising details and a written scope.
How much does conveyancing cost for a Sydney apartment?
Only two firms in our table publish a separate unit price. Allied Conveyancing charges $1,760 for a house and $1,870 for a unit, searches and identity checks included. DSP Law charges $1,399 for a house and $1,399 or $1,519 for a unit, with mandatory searches included. Strata work and extra searches can change a unit quote, so ask what is included.
Which searches and certificates are included in a NSW fee?
It depends on the quote. Allied Conveyancing, East West Conveyancing and DSP Law put specified searches inside their fee. Most others charge searches on top. Official prices include $105 for a City of Sydney rates certificate and $9.81 for a Sydney Water conveyancing certificate. A planning certificate is often supplied with the contract, so do not count it twice.
How much are NSW transfer and mortgage registration fees?
NSW Land Registry Services charges $182.73 including GST to register a transfer and $182.73 to register a mortgage, from 1 July 2026. Unlike Queensland, the transfer fee does not change with the price. These are registry charges, not part of the professional fee.
How much is the PEXA fee in NSW?
PEXA publishes $146.30 including GST for a transfer of a single title in NSW. Other dealings and title counts have other prices. Some firm pages still show an older PEXA figure, so use PEXA’s own page.
Does a fixed conveyancing fee include GST?
GST is 10%. Of the 13 NSW firms in our table, 8 say GST is included, 3 add it on top and 2 do not say. We multiply a GST exclusive fee by 1.10 and leave out firms that do not say, so every figure in the range is on one basis.
Do conveyancers charge for every contract I review?
Practice varies. Domium and Zettle describe a standard contract review as part of the fee, WeDo Legal lists a review in its standard scope, Ready Settle Go offers contract reviews, and Mikhael Lawyers credits a purchase review towards its fee. Ask how many contracts are covered, what an extra review costs and whether a review is credited if you buy.
How long is the NSW cooling off period and what does cancelling cost?
Ordinary cooling off ends at 5 pm on the fifth business day after exchange, with 0.25% of the price payable if you use it. Off the plan contracts have 10 business days. There is no cooling off at auction, or on exchange that day after the property is passed in, and none when it is validly waived with a section 66W certificate. On $800,000, 0.25% is $2,000. That is not a conveyancing fee.
Why is my settlement payment higher than my conveyancing bill?
Your cash shortfall is the purchase price plus unpaid transaction costs and settlement adjustments, less the deposit already paid, available loan funds and other funds already credited. Your conveyancer’s bill is only one part of those costs. The others include transfer duty, rates and water adjustments, registry fees, PEXA and any reports. The deposit already paid, lender funds and other credited funds are funding, not costs. Ask your conveyancer for the settlement statement and match each line to a cost or a source of funds.
Get matched with a conveyancer or property lawyer in your state
Tell us your suburb, whether you are buying or selling and whether it is a house or an apartment. We pass that on so you can ask for an itemised quote showing the professional fee, GST, included searches, other costs and exclusions. We do not claim every firm in this table is a NestPath partner, or that the lowest advertised fee will be your final cost.
Get matched with a conveyancerThis page is general information, not personal advice.
Sources
How we checked: every figure on this page was read on the official source pages listed below on 28 October 2026.
| Publisher | Page | The page’s own date |
|---|---|---|
| NSW Land Registry Services | 2026/27 fees update (PDF) | Issued June 2026 |
| NSW Land Registry Services | Fees | Fees effective 1 July 2026 |
| PEXA | Pricing | Effective 1 July 2026 and 1 October 2026 |
| City of Sydney | Apply for a property certificate: planning and rates | No page date shown. Linked application PDF marked modified 2 July 2026 |
| Sydney Water | Other prices | Applies 1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027 |
| NSW Government | Conveyancer licences | No date shown |
| NSW Government | Conveyancing for property buyers and sellers | No date shown |
| NSW Government | Contracts and deposits | No date shown |
| Australian Government, business.gov.au | Register for goods and services tax (GST) | No date shown |
| AUSTRAC | Anti money laundering and counter terrorism laws cover thousands more businesses | Published 1 July 2026 |
| Each firm in the fee table | Its own fee page, linked in the table above | The date each page shows is in the Page date column |
