We compared seven kids tablets sold on Amazon Australia, from a 17.8 cm first tablet to a 27.9 cm Samsung, using only what each listing states, and we say plainly where a rating count is thin.
Best tablet for kids overall: JIKOCXN Kids Tablet
Best tablet for kids overall: the JIKOCXN Kids Tablet, because it pairs a 25.4 cm 1280 by 800 screen with pre installed parental controls, a drop proof stand case and the joint highest star rating of the kids tablets we checked.
The listing describes a 2.0 GHz octa core processor, 64 GB of storage and a microSD slot up to 1 TB. Parental control is pre installed, with child profiles and screen time limits, plus full access to Google Play. It claims over 8 hours of use with a 2 hour USB-C fast charge, and the box lists a drop proof case, a fitted screen protector and a USB-C cable. It is rated 4.5 stars from 227 ratings, the joint highest score here.
It suits children the listing describes as aged 6 to 12 who want a bigger screen. The honest catch: only 227 buyers have rated it so far, a thin count, the RAM is written as 30 GB made up of 6 plus 24, so 6 GB is the base figure, and the title says Android 15 while the bullets say Android 16.
Best 25.7 cm kids tablet with Google Kids Space: plimpton PlimPad Kids 20
Best 25.7 cm kids tablet with Google Kids Space: the plimpton PlimPad Kids 20, because it runs Android 15 with Google Kids Space pre installed, has a 25.7 cm glass screen with an eye protection mode and comes in a rotating stand case.
The listing describes Android 15, a 2.0 GHz 8 core processor, 4 GB of RAM and 64 GB of storage expandable to 1 TB. Google Kids Space comes pre installed for children aged 3 and above, and the parental controls filter content, set educational targets and time restrictions. The glass screen has an eye protection mode, and the EVA case has a 360 degree rotatable bracket. It is rated 4.3 stars from 280 ratings.
It suits a family that wants Google Kids Space on a bigger glass screen. The honest catch: it costs more than most kids tablets we checked, 280 ratings is still a thin count, and the warranty wording says one year in one place and two years in another.
Best 25.7 cm kids tablet for the money: WXUNJA Kids Tablet
Best 25.7 cm kids tablet for the money: the WXUNJA Kids Tablet, because it gives a 25.7 cm HD screen, Google Kids Space with parental controls, a 6,000 mAh battery and an included stand case at a price under the two picks above.
The listing describes Android 15, a 2.0 GHz octa core processor, 64 GB of storage and microSD support up to 1 TB, with Google Kids Space and parental controls. The 1280 by 800 HD IPS touchscreen has eye comfort technology, the 6,000 mAh battery gives up to 6 hours of video, and dual band WiFi, Bluetooth and a 5 year warranty are listed. The bullet points describe a silicone stand case, the box contents row names the tablet, an EVA case and a Type C cable, and no charger is listed. It is rated 4.2 stars from 665 ratings.
It suits a family that wants the bigger screen for less than the two picks above. The honest catch: the title quotes 21 GB of RAM but the bullets break that down as 3 GB plus 18 GB virtual, and the battery is rated for up to 6 hours of video.
Best value 17.8 cm kids tablet: HOTTABLET Kids Tablet
Best value 17.8 cm kids tablet: the HOTTABLET Kids Tablet, because it is the most rated kids tablet on this page and still bundles a stand up silicone case and the iwawa kids mode with parent set screen time.
The listing describes a 1024 by 600 IPS screen, Android 12, a 4 core processor, 4 GB of RAM written as 2 GB original plus 2 GB expandable, and 32 GB of storage with a 512 GB card slot. Parents control screen time and filter content, the iwawa app adds brain training, painting and kids TV, plus the Play store. A 3.5 mm headphone jack and a 3,000 mAh battery for 8 hours of mixed use are listed. It is rated 4.0 stars from 1,527 ratings, the most here.
It suits a first tablet for a child the age range row puts at 4 to 12. The honest catch: its 17.8 cm 1024 by 600 screen is the smallest size here and is shared with two other picks, and its 4.0 star rating ties for the lowest with the aiprotablet.
Best for toddlers and preschoolers: ZZB Kids Tablet
Best for toddlers and preschoolers: the ZZB Kids Tablet, because its handle case is built for small hands, the kids interface is set to the child's age and skill level, and the 17.8 cm screen has a night reading mode.
The listing describes Android 12, a 1.5 GHz quad core processor, a 1024 by 600 IPS display with a night reading mode that adjusts the brightness, dual cameras, 32 GB of storage and a micro SD slot up to 1024 GB. The kid friendly interface is tailored to the child's age and skill level, with content for kids aged 3 and up. The handle case stands on its own. It is rated 4.2 stars from 331 ratings, shared across its colours.
It suits a young child who needs the handles as much as the screen, with content the listing sets for kids aged 3 and up. The honest catch: the listing's own warning says it is not for children under 3, the battery is not replaceable, and its 1024 by 600 screen is entry level.
Best 17.8 cm kids tablet with Google Kids Space: aiprotablet Kids Tablet
Best 17.8 cm kids tablet with Google Kids Space: the aiprotablet Kids Tablet, because it comes preloaded with Google Kids Space and a parental control mode for screen time and content, runs full Android rather than the Go edition and has more than a thousand ratings.
The listing describes a parental control mode that filters content by the child's age and manages screen time limits. It runs Android OS, not the Go edition, on a quad core processor with 6 GB of memory written as 2 GB plus 4 GB virtual. The 1024 by 600 IPS touchscreen sits in a soft silicone case with a rotatable stand, Bluetooth, dual 2 MP cameras and an FM radio are listed, and the box holds the tablet, a USB-C cable and a user manual. It is rated 4.0 stars from 1,225 ratings.
It suits a younger child whose parent wants Google Kids Space on a small screen. The honest catch: it is a quad core tablet with a 1024 by 600 screen and 2 MP cameras, and its 4.0 star rating ties for the lowest here with the HOTTABLET.
Best premium kids tablet that grows with them: Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+ Kids Edition
Best premium kids tablet that grows with them: the Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+ Kids Edition, because it brings a 27.9 cm 1920 by 1200 screen, Samsung Kids with usage reports, a kids cover with a tethered Crayo-Pen, 128 GB of storage and up to seven generations of OS upgrades.
The listing describes a bright 1920 by 1200 display with up to a 90 Hz refresh rate, 128 GB of storage and up to seven generations of OS and security upgrades. Samsung Kids lets parents manage screen time, app access and content. The box holds a shock absorbing kids cover, a Crayo-Pen with a tether, stickers and a data cable, and a footnote says it requires a 25 W wall charger, sold separately. The battery is rated for up to 15 hours. It is rated 4.5 stars from 37 ratings.
It suits a family buying one tablet to last for years. The honest catch: it costs more than twice any other pick here, only 37 buyers have rated it so far, a very thin count, the wall charger is sold separately, as the listing says.
How to choose a tablet for kids
Small screen or big screen
Three picks have 17.8 cm screens at 1024 by 600: the HOTTABLET, the ZZB and the aiprotablet, all with a case that stands. Three have screens of about 25 cm at 1280 by 800: the JIKOCXN, the plimpton and the WXUNJA. The Samsung sits above them at 27.9 cm and 1920 by 1200. For tablets that are not sold as kids tablets, see our tablet guide.
Parental controls, Google Kids Space and listed ages
Every pick lists parental controls. Google Kids Space is named on the plimpton, WXUNJA and aiprotablet listings; the JIKOCXN, HOTTABLET and ZZB use their own pre installed kids modes, and the Samsung uses Samsung Kids, which adds usage reports. Listed ages: JIKOCXN designed for 6 to 12 and a gift line for 3 to 12, plimpton and WXUNJA 3 and up, HOTTABLET 4 to 12 on its age range row, ZZB 3 to 15 years with a warning against under 3, and no age range on the aiprotablet or the Samsung.
RAM figures and what is in the box
Several listings quote a memory figure made of two parts: the WXUNJA writes 3 GB plus 18 GB virtual, the aiprotablet 2 GB plus 4 GB virtual, the JIKOCXN 30 GB made up of 6 plus 24 and the HOTTABLET and ZZB 4 GB made up of 2 plus 2, so compare the first number in each pair. The table below gives each box.
Kids tablets compared by listing specs
| Tablet | Screen in the listing | Storage | Listed age | In the box |
| JIKOCXN Kids Tablet | 25.4 cm, 1280 by 800 | 64 GB, microSD up to 1 TB | 6 to 12, gift line 3 to 12 | Case, screen protector, manual, USB-C cable |
| plimpton PlimPad Kids 20 | 25.7 cm, 1280 by 800 glass | 64 GB, expandable to 1 TB | 3 and up | Tablet, user guide |
| WXUNJA Kids Tablet | 25.7 cm, 1280 by 800 | 64 GB, microSD up to 1 TB | 3 and up | Tablet, EVA case, Type C cable, no charger listed |
| HOTTABLET Kids Tablet | 17.8 cm, 1024 by 600 | 32 GB, 512 GB card slot | 4 to 12 | Tablet, case, Type C cable |
| ZZB Kids Tablet | 17.8 cm, 1024 by 600 | 32 GB, micro SD up to 1024 GB | 3 to 15 | Cable listed |
| aiprotablet Kids Tablet | 17.8 cm, 1024 by 600 | 32 GB, micro SD slot | Not stated | Tablet, case, USB-C cable, manual |
| Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+ Kids Edition | 27.9 cm, 1920 by 1200, up to 90 Hz | 128 GB, microSD up to 2 TB | Not stated | Kids cover, Crayo-Pen, tether, stickers, data cable; 25 W charger sold separately |
Headphones, cameras and the brands that are not here
The JIKOCXN, ZZB, aiprotablet and HOTTABLET listings each name a 3.5 mm headphone jack, and most picks list Bluetooth, so a pair from our kids headphones guide is the usual add on. Where the bullet points give camera figures they are 2 MP and 5 MP; for a camera made for photos see our kids camera guide. We found no Amazon Fire Kids tablet listing on Amazon Australia when we checked, and the LeapFrog LeapPad listings did not make the seven picks.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best tablet for kids in Australia?
For most families it is the JIKOCXN Kids Tablet: a 25.4 cm screen, pre installed parental controls, a drop proof stand case and the joint highest rating here. For a smaller first tablet choose the HOTTABLET, and for a big brand the Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+ Kids Edition.
Which tablet brand is best for kids?
Samsung is the one big name brand here, with the Galaxy Tab A11+ Kids Edition, but it has only 37 ratings so far. The rest are smaller brands: the JIKOCXN shares the highest rating and the HOTTABLET has the most. We found no Amazon Fire Kids tablet listing on Amazon Australia when we checked.
Which is better for kids, an iPad or a Samsung tablet?
This page compares tablets listed as kids tablets, with a case and parental controls in the box, so no iPad is a pick here. The Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+ Kids Edition is the Samsung pick: a 27.9 cm 1920 by 1200 screen, Samsung Kids with usage reports and a Crayo-Pen in the box.
What is the best tablet for a 3 year old?
The ZZB Kids Tablet suits toddlers and preschoolers: a 17.8 cm screen in a handle case, a kids interface set to the child's age, and content for kids aged 3 and up, though its warning says not for children under 3. The plimpton PlimPad is listed for ages 3 and above.
What is the best tablet for a 4 or 5 year old?
The HOTTABLET is the value choice: its age range row gives 4 to 12, with a stand case, a kids mode with parent set screen time and a headphone jack. The aiprotablet adds Google Kids Space on the same 17.8 cm screen, and the WXUNJA is listed for ages 3 and up.
What is the best tablet for a 6 year old?
The JIKOCXN: its listing says it is designed for children aged 6 to 12, with a 25.4 cm screen, child profiles with screen time limits and a stand case. For a tablet to last for years, the Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+ Kids Edition is built to keep up as they grow.
Which kids tablet comes with a pen?
On this page only the Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+ Kids Edition: its listing describes a Crayo-Pen with a pen tether in the box. None of the other six listings names a stylus, and the Samsung's 27.9 cm screen gives the most room to draw.
Do kids tablets come with a charger?
No pick lists a wall charger in the box. The JIKOCXN, HOTTABLET, WXUNJA, ZZB and aiprotablet listings each list a cable, the WXUNJA box contents are the tablet, an EVA case and a Type C cable, and the Samsung says a 25 W wall charger is sold separately. The plimpton box contents name the tablet and a user guide.
Is the Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+ Kids Edition worth the extra?
It is the one pick here with a 27.9 cm screen, 128 GB of storage, a pen and up to seven generations of OS upgrades, for a family buying once for years. Against that, it costs several times the JIKOCXN, has only 37 ratings so far and needs a 25 W wall charger sold separately.