Basic or True RMS multimeter: start with what you will measure
Before you compare meters, decide what you will measure. A basic meter is enough for steady readings such as a battery or a fuse, and only some listings state True RMS. Here the AstroAI True RMS, the KAIWEETS 6000 Count and the Fluke 115 state it, while the lower count KAIWEETS, Klein MM325 and Digital Multimeter XB866 listings do not. The best multimeter for you is the one whose listing states the functions and safety rating your job needs.
The second thing to read is the CAT rating, which pairs a category with a voltage, as in the listing lines CAT III 600V and CAT IV 600V. We copy each listing's line and make no safety claim of our own. The Digital Multimeter XB866 states none, so we place it with light low voltage checks. Leave fixed household wiring to a licensed electrician, whatever meter you own.
The table copies what each Amazon AU listing states. Where a listing is silent we write Not stated.
| Meter | Rating on Amazon AU | True RMS in the listing | CAT rating in the listing | Stated functions |
| Digital Multimeter XB866 | 5.0 from 2 ratings | Not stated | Not stated | Voltage, current, continuity, diode |
| KAIWEETS 2000 Count | 4.5 from 24,820 ratings | Not stated | CAT III 600V | AC and DC voltage, resistance, continuity, diode |
| UNI-T UT33B+ | 4.8 from 116 ratings | Not stated | CAT II | Battery test, loud buzzer (dated note on its card) |
| AstroAI True RMS | 4.6 from 6,426 ratings | Yes | Category III 600V | AC and DC voltage, current, resistance, battery, live wire |
| Klein Tools MM325 | 4.7 from 2,994 ratings | Not stated | CAT III 600V | Voltage, current, resistance, continuity, battery, diode |
| KAIWEETS 6000 Count | 4.7 from 22,413 ratings | Yes (TRMS) | CAT III 1000V and CAT IV 600V | Adds frequency, capacitance, temperature, duty cycle |
| Fluke 115 | 4.8 from 2,980 ratings | Yes | CAT III 600V | Resistance, continuity, frequency, capacitance |
A multimeter is only part of a fault finding kit. A stud finder is the safer first check before you drill into a wall, and a soldering iron repairs boards rather than tests them.
Best overall: Digital Multimeter XB866
The Digital Multimeter XB866 is our best overall pick because it holds the highest rating on this page, 5.0 stars, but only 2 people have rated it. Treat that as an early signal, not a track record. The Fluke 115 and the KAIWEETS 6000 Count have far more ratings behind them: 4.8 stars from 2,980 and 4.7 stars from 22,413.
The title says it measures voltage, current, continuity and diode, and the bullets describe a bracket for adjusting the angle and a test pen built into the compact body. The product table lists a minimum operating voltage of 200 millivolts and an upper temperature rating of 50 degrees Celsius. Butterfly Direct-AU sells it and Amazon ships it, and the brand shows as Generic.
What it does not tell you matters more. The title, bullets and product table state no CAT rating, no count, no True RMS, no power source and no size or weight, and one bullet is missing a word, reading can easily measure current, , and voltage. Keep it to light low voltage checks and leave fixed household wiring to a licensed electrician.
Before you buy, check what is in the box and which battery it needs: the product table lists Included Components as No and gives no power source. It lists the model number as Generic82fgt9cird and the style as Compact.
KAIWEETS 2000 Count Digital Multimeter
The KAIWEETS 2000 Count is the listing with the most ratings on this page: 4.5 stars from 24,820. The bullet lists AC and DC voltage, a DC measurement marked not for AC, resistance, continuity and diode measurement, with data hold and a backlight display. It states CAT III 600V with double fuses and overload protection on all ranges, and KAIWEETS also states 36 month after sale service.
One detail cuts against the idea that a basic meter is simple: a bullet asks you to make sure the rotary switch is at the right test range, and the listing never states auto ranging or True RMS, so expect to choose the range yourself. The product table lists Automotive among its compatible devices and a bullet cites vehicle inspections. The table gives 8.05 ounces and 12.8 x 6.7 x 3.6 centimetres.
The Klein Tools MM325 is a manual ranging meter, so you choose the range yourself. The title and bullets give 600V AC and DC, 10A DC current, resistance up to 2 MΩ, continuity, battery testing and diode testing, plus Lead Alert LED indicators that help confirm the test leads are in the right place before you measure.
The listing states a backlit LCD, 2 m drop protection and CAT III 600V, and the kit includes test leads, batteries and a user manual. The product table lists 395 grams and 23.7 x 12.9 x 9.7 centimetres. It holds 4.7 stars from 2,994 ratings, and Amazon AU sells and ships it. The listing does not state True RMS.
AstroAI True RMS Digital Multimeter
The AstroAI pairs True RMS with a stated category III 600V rating and a battery test. The title names True RMS, 4000 counts, NCV and a battery test. The bullets list AC and DC voltage to 600V, current to 10A and resistance to 40MΩ, with continuity, diode, battery and live wire tests, and 1.5V, 9V and 12V battery test modes.
The bullets add a double ceramic fuse, sound and light alarms for non contact detection and two AAA batteries in the package, and the listing states overvoltage category III 600V. The product table lists 219 grams and 14.9 x 7.1 x 3.5 centimetres. It holds 4.6 stars from 6,426 ratings, and AstroAI Direct AU sells it with Amazon shipping. The listing does not state auto ranging.
KAIWEETS 6000 Count True RMS Multimeter
This KAIWEETS lists a wide function set: the title states TRMS, 6000 counts and auto ranging, and adds frequency, capacitance, temperature and duty cycle. The bullets add non contact voltage testing, a large 2.9 inch backlight display with a dual display and bar graph, a back flashlight and a kickstand.
It states CAT III 1000V and CAT IV 600V with a double ceramic fuse and thermistor protection circuit, the highest category stated on this page. The product table lists 0.55 kilograms and 20.4 x 13 x 6.2 centimetres, so it is a toolbox meter rather than a pocket one. It holds 4.7 stars from 22,413 ratings.
Fluke 115 Field Technicians Digital Multimeter
The Fluke 115 listing is written for field service work. The bullets describe a compact True RMS meter with one handed operation, Min/Max/Average to record signal fluctuations, a large white LED backlight, and a holster and 4 mm test lead in the box. The Fluke 115 description gives the count two ways, 600 count resolution in one paragraph and a 6000 count resolution in its Ease of use text, so we do not use the count to rank it. It also lists continuity and capacitance.
The product table lists CAT III 600V, a 3 year manufacturer guarantee and a weight of 682 grams, and the card holds 4.8 stars from 2,980 ratings. The buy box shows PRECISION ENGINEERING PRESIZE as the seller, and the part number reads FLUKE-115 EUR, so confirm the guarantee terms with the seller before you buy. A simpler meter can cover occasional household checks if its listing states the safety rating you need.
Matching the meter to home, DIY, car and trade work
Match the meter to the job in front of you. For light checks on batteries and fuses, a basic meter does the work. For electronics, appliances and variable loads, choose a listing that states True RMS. For work near a switchboard, choose by the CAT rating the listing states, and leave fixed household wiring to a licensed electrician.
| Main use | Listings that fit the stated need |
| Light checks (batteries, fuses) | Digital Multimeter XB866 (no CAT rating stated), lower count KAIWEETS (CAT III 600V stated) |
| Electronics and variable loads | AstroAI, KAIWEETS 6000 Count, Fluke 115 (True RMS stated) |
| Car and home | AstroAI, lower count KAIWEETS, KAIWEETS 6000 Count (car use named in the listing) |
| Work near a switchboard | KAIWEETS 6000 Count (CAT IV 600V stated), Fluke 115 (CAT III 600V stated); fixed wiring stays a job for a licensed electrician |
Opening a battery compartment is easier with a screwdriver set, and the Klein listing describes easy access battery and fuse compartments.
What separates a basic meter from the Fluke 115
On these listings the difference is in what is stated. The Fluke 115 states True RMS, CAT III 600V, Min/Max/Average and a 3 year manufacturer guarantee. The lower count KAIWEETS states CAT III 600V, data hold and 36 month after sale service but not True RMS, and the Digital Multimeter XB866 states no CAT rating. The KAIWEETS 6000 Count states True RMS and CAT IV 600V and lists a long function set. Read the specification lines, because a name or a rating count alone does not tell you what a meter can do.
Power, size and weight on the listings
Six of the seven product tables list Battery Powered as the power source: the lower count KAIWEETS, UNI-T UT33B+ (dated note on its card), Klein MM325, AstroAI, KAIWEETS 6000 Count and Fluke 115. The Digital Multimeter XB866 table gives no power source. None of the listings is a plug in meter, so no plug or voltage claim is made here.
Sizes differ. The AstroAI table lists 219 grams, the Klein 395 grams, the KAIWEETS 6000 Count 0.55 kilograms and the Fluke 115 682 grams. The lower count KAIWEETS table gives 8.05 ounces. The AstroAI bullets say two AAA batteries are included, and the Klein bullets say batteries are included.
What True RMS, count and CAT ratings mean
Three listing lines do most of the work when you compare these meters. True RMS is stated by the AstroAI title, the KAIWEETS 6000 Count title (TRMS) and the Fluke 115 bullets. The count is the display resolution each listing quotes: 2000 on the lower count KAIWEETS, 4000 on the AstroAI and 6000 on the KAIWEETS 6000 Count. The Fluke 115 description gives the count two ways, 600 count resolution in one paragraph and a 6000 count resolution in its Ease of use text, so we do not use the count to rank it.
The CAT rating pairs a category with a voltage. The lower count KAIWEETS, Klein MM325 and Fluke 115 state CAT III 600V, the AstroAI states overvoltage category III 600V, and the KAIWEETS 6000 Count states CAT III 1000V and CAT IV 600V. The Digital Multimeter XB866 states none. We make no safety claim of our own, and fixed household wiring is a job for a licensed electrician.
Ranging differs too. The KAIWEETS 6000 Count title says Auto Ranging, the Klein title says Manual Ranging, and the lower count KAIWEETS asks you to set the right test range on the rotary switch. For after sale cover, the Fluke 115 table gives a 3 year manufacturer guarantee and both KAIWEETS listings give 36 month after sale service.
Which listing suits which buyer
For a pocket meter with a test pen and a bracket, the Digital Multimeter XB866 is the listing that names them, with the thin rating base noted above. For a large review base and a stated CAT III 600V, the lower count KAIWEETS holds 4.5 stars from 24,820 ratings. For True RMS with a stated category III 600V and battery test modes, the AstroAI holds 4.6 stars from 6,426 ratings. For a manual ranging meter with Lead Alert, the Klein MM325 holds 4.7 stars from 2,994 ratings. For the longest function list and the highest CAT category stated here, the KAIWEETS 6000 Count holds 4.7 stars from 22,413 ratings. For a listing written for field service with a 3 year manufacturer guarantee in its table, the Fluke 115 holds 4.8 stars from 2,980 ratings.
Using a multimeter on a car
Three listings name car use: the KAIWEETS 6000 Count title ends with the words for Automotive, the lower count KAIWEETS bullets cite vehicle inspections and its product table lists Automotive among compatible devices, and the AstroAI bullets cite automotive and household electrical problems. The AstroAI also lists 1.5V, 9V and 12V battery test modes. For engine fault codes you want an OBD2 scanner rather than a meter. We give no typical battery or alternator voltage figures here, so check your vehicle's own manual for the values to expect.
Checking continuity
Continuity tells you whether a wire or fuse is unbroken. With the power off, set the dial to the continuity function, touch the two probes together to confirm the meter responds, then place one probe at each end of the wire or fuse. The listings for the Digital Multimeter XB866, lower count KAIWEETS, Klein MM325, AstroAI, KAIWEETS 6000 Count and Fluke 115 name continuity. A wire stripper helps you prepare the wire ends before you test a repair.
How we checked these multimeters
We read the Amazon AU listing for every meter on this page: its title, bullet points, product information table and description, which carry the maker's own statements. Specs come from the maker's bullet points and the product information on each listing. We did not test the meters, and every CAT rating, count and range here is the listing's wording, not a safety claim of ours. Where a listing is silent, we write Not stated. Each card shows its Amazon AU rating and count.
Last checked: 22 October 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which multimeter to buy for home use?
Start with the CAT rating each listing states. The lower count KAIWEETS, Klein MM325 and Fluke 115 state CAT III 600V, the AstroAI states overvoltage category III 600V, and the KAIWEETS 6000 Count states CAT III 1000V and CAT IV 600V. The Digital Multimeter XB866 states none. Leave fixed household wiring to a licensed electrician.
What is the best multimeter for DIY?
For light DIY checks, the Digital Multimeter XB866 is our best overall listing, rated 5.0 from only 2 ratings, and it states no CAT rating. For a bigger review base, the lower count KAIWEETS holds 4.5 stars from 24,820 ratings and states CAT III 600V, data hold and a backlight display.
Which multimeter is best for automotive use?
Three listings name car use. The KAIWEETS 6000 Count title ends with the words for Automotive, the lower count KAIWEETS bullets cite vehicle inspections, and the AstroAI bullets cite automotive and household electrical problems. The AstroAI also lists 1.5V, 9V and 12V battery test modes. Check each listing's stated ranges before you buy.
Is Uni-T a good brand?
UNI-T makes the UT33B+, the only UNI-T meter we checked, so we cannot rate the whole brand. Its listing describes a 2 meters drop test and battery test modes for 1.5V, 9V and 12V batteries, and its product table lists CAT II. Its card carries a dated note, so check the listing before planning a purchase.
Which multimeter is better, Fluke or Milwaukee?
We checked no Milwaukee listing, so we cannot compare the two. The Fluke 115 listing describes a compact True RMS meter with Min/Max/Average, a large white LED backlight and a holster, its table lists CAT III 600V, and it holds 4.8 stars from 2,980 ratings on Amazon AU. Compare any Milwaukee model on the same specifications.
Which brand of multimeter is considered the best?
No brand wins every job, and we do not rank brands. On Amazon AU the Fluke 115 holds 4.8 stars from 2,980 ratings, the Klein MM325 holds 4.7 from 2,994 and the KAIWEETS 6000 Count holds 4.7 from 22,413. Judge any meter by its listed CAT rating, True RMS and count.
What is the best multimeter in the world?
We cannot name a world best, because we only compared the seven Amazon AU listings on this page. Among them the Digital Multimeter XB866 is our best overall pick, with 5.0 stars from only 2 ratings, while the Fluke 115 has 4.8 stars from 2,980 ratings. Pick by the specifications your job needs.
What is the difference between cheap and expensive multimeters?
On these listings the difference is what each one states. The Fluke 115 states True RMS, CAT III 600V and a 3 year manufacturer guarantee. The lower count KAIWEETS states CAT III 600V but does not state True RMS, and the Digital Multimeter XB866 states no CAT rating. Read the specification lines rather than assuming cost decides quality.
Is a cheap multimeter better than an expensive multimeter?
Not automatically. A simpler meter can suit light checks, but its listing must state the safety rating you need. The KAIWEETS 6000 Count states CAT III 1000V and CAT IV 600V, while the Fluke 115 states CAT III 600V. Leave fixed household wiring to a licensed electrician, whatever meter you own.